• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your Colorado Divorce Laws 2017

Discover Your Colorado Divorce Laws and Save Money… ….by Mastering the Divorce Process in Colorado

 

Colorado Residency Requirement
According to the Colorado Divorce Laws and Colorado Divorce Guidelines, to get divorced in Colorado, one of the spouses must have been a resident of the state for a minimum of 90 days prior to filing the case

Place of Divorce (Venue)
The case may be filed in:
County where the defendant resides or the county in which the plaintiff resides if the defendant is not a resident of Colorado.

Simplified or Special Divorce Procedures
A dissolution of marriage may be obtained by affidavit of either or both of the spouses if:
(1) there are no minor children and the wife is not pregnant or both spouses are represented by counsel and have entered into a separation agreement granting custody and child support;
(2) there are no disputes;
(3) there is no marital property or the spouses have agreed on the division of marital property;
(4) the adverse party (non-filing spouse) has been served with the dissolution of marriage papers. A signed affidavit stating the facts in the case must be filed with the petition.

Colorado Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault/Fault divorce:
(1) Irretrievable breakdown of the marriage

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in Colorado, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , defined by Colorado divorce guidelines and Colorado divorce laws, is a scenario where the spouses agree on the terms of the divorce such as Colorado property distribution, Colorado child support, or Colorado child custody. Most of the clients we talk with (75%) prefer the Agreed Divorce method and both spouses sign the divorce papers and are agreed to the terms of divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , according to the Colorado divorce guidelines and Colorado divorce laws, is a divorce where the other spouse doesn’t sign the Colorado Divorce forms or Colorado divorce papers, he/she doesn’t do anything at all with the divorce. They simply default on the case and the spouse who files for divorce gets whatever was asked for in the original paperwork.

 

Colorado Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for Colorado:
  • Colorado Divorce Legal Code

 

Process to file for Divorce in Colorado
There are only three basic procedural steps to a divorce:

  • File Divorce Papers for Colorado (Colorado Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse of your filing for divorce in Colorado
  • Attend your Colorado divorce hearing. It only takes about 12 minutes, for an uncontested case.

 

How The Colorado Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in Colorado

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 

Colorado Child Custody Laws
Simple Definitions: (source: divorce process in Colorado and CO divorce laws)

  • Visitation is the plan the spouses have on where the children will live and when the children will see the other spouse
  • Legal Custody is the decision ability of the parents in the lives of the children. Such as, where the children will attend school and which church they will go to.
  • Physical Custody pertains to the place where the children will live and which parent they live with.

Colorado Child Custody in a shared arrangement, in one form or another, is the preferred method of our Colorado divorce customers. If a sole custody arrangement is to be considered, then there is usually a good reason agreed upon by both parties that one parent is to have the children. Usually the financial status of a parent is not to be considered for allocating any parental rights and responsibilities. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody may be awarded according to the best interests of the child.

Colorado Child Support Laws
If the parents are unable to agree to an amount of child support, there are guidelines that determine the amount of support based on the Colorado Child Support Guidelines. The child maintenance guideline amount is presumed to arrive at an amount of support that is in the child's best interest. But, most divorcing spouses agree to a figure on their own, that will work just fine. Also, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a Legal Separation in Colorado.

Colorado Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in Colorado right here.

Court Filing Fees
The Court filing fees are not included in the price of our service. To file for divorce in Colorado, fees must usually be paid when you file the Colorado divorce forms and Colorado divorce papers at your county courthouse. These fees vary between County to County, so it is best to call them and ask what the fees are in your County. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a Colorado divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in Colorado, you will almost always be the one to cover the court fees which is standard procedure.

Colorado Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In Uncontested "Agreed Divorces" or "Default Divorces" the property is divided so that both parties agree to the division. The main concern here is to agree to the property division so that it doesn’t create a fight that one party will want to go to a Colorado divorce lawyer or divorce attorney to make the case into a Contested Divorce. Then you will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too.

  • Debts Most divorcing spouses set out who will pay what debts as part of their marital settlement agreement during the divorce process, and close all of their joint accounts.
  • Colorado Alimony Laws (Colorado Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested Divorce, Alimony may be awarded to either spouse for their support and maintenance after the divorce. Both parties must agree to it. Since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the Colorado divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in a lump sum payment of money or a payment plan. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in Colorado.

Missing Spouse
If you do not know where your spouse is and cannot locate him/her, after diligent effort, you may still get a divorce in Colorado. It may involve the extra expense of running a newspaper ad or something similar. We help you through the process.

Wife’s Last Name
The Wife may receive her Maiden Name back in the Divorce if she wishes. We include this name change in our service for FREE. Divorce in Colorado often includes a name change.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details