• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your Maine Divorce Laws 2017

Discover Your Maine Divorce Laws and Save Time… ….by Understanding the Divorce Process in Maine

 

Maine Residency Requirement
According to the Maine Divorce Laws and Maine Divorce Guidelines, to get divorced in Maine there is a 6 month residency requirement for the spouse filing the case.

Place of Divorce (Venue)
The case may be filed in:
County where either spouse resides.

Simplified or Special Divorce Procedures
In a uncontested divorce, testimony of a corroborating witness is unnecessary

Maine Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault divorce:
(1) Irreconcilable marital differences

Grounds for a Fault based divorce:
(1) Impotence
(2) adultery
(3) alcoholism and/or drug addiction
(4) confinement for incurable insanity for 7 consecutive years
(5) desertion for 3 years
(6) cruelty or abuse
(7) nonsupport (a spouse is able to provide support but refuses to do so)

 

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in Maine, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , defined by Maine divorce guidelines and Maine divorce laws, is a scenario where the spouses agree on the terms of the divorce such as Maine property distribution, Maine child support, or Maine child custody. Most of our clients (75%) prefer the Agreed Divorce method and both spouses sign the divorce papers and are agreed to the terms of divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , from the Maine divorce guidelines and ME divorce laws, is a divorce where your spouse doesn’t sign the Maine Divorce paperwork or Maine divorce forms. They simply doesn’t do anything at all… with the divorce. They simply default on their side of the case. And YOU who filed FIRST get whatever you ask for in the originally filed divorce forms. NICE

Missing Spouse in Maine
If your spouse is missing and you cannot locate him/her, after diligent effort, you may still get a divorce in Maine. It may involve the small expense of running a newspaper ad or something similar. We help you through the process with our FREE Missing Spouse Package.

Wife’s Last Name Change
The wife may, if she chooses, receive her Maiden Name back during the divorce. Our Divorce Service includes this name change in our service for FREE.


 

Maine Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for Maine:

 

Process to file for Divorce in Maine
There are only three basic procedural steps to a divorce:

  • File Divorce Papers for Maine (Maine Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse of your filing for divorce in Maine
  • Attend your Maine divorce hearing

 

How The Maine Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in Maine

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 

Your Maine Child Custody Laws
Definitions: (source: divorce process in Maine and ME divorce laws)

  • Visitation is the proposed plan the spouses have on WHERE the children will live and WHEN the children will see each parent
  • Legal Custody is the ability to make decisions in the life of the children. Such as, where the children will attend school and which church they will go to.
  • Physical Custody Is the choice of the location of where the children will live and which spouse they live with.

Maine Child Custody in a shared arrangement, in one form or another, is the preferred method of our Maine divorce customers. If a sole custody arrangement is to be considered, then there is usually a reason agreed upon by both parties that one parent is to have the children. Usually the financial status of a parent is not to be considered for allocating any parental rights and responsibilities. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody may be awarded according to the best interests of the child.

Maine Child Support Laws
If the parents are unable to agree to an amount of child support, there are guidelines that determine the amount of support based on the Maine Child Support Guidelines. The guideline amount is presumed to arrive at an amount of support that is in the child's best interest. But, most divorcing spouses agree to a figure on their own, that will work just fine. Also, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a Legal Separation in Maine.

Maine Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in Maine right here.
Maine Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In an Uncontested "Agreed Divorce" or "Default Divorce" the property is divided so that both parties agree to the division. The main concern for us here is to agree to the property division so that it doesn’t create a fight that one party will want to go to a Maine divorce lawyer or divorce attorney to make the case into a Contested Divorce. Then you will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too.

  • Debts Most divorcing spouses set out who will pay what debts as part of their marital settlement agreement during the divorce process, and close all of their joint accounts.
  • Maine Alimony Laws (Maine Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested Divorce, Alimony may be awarded to either spouse for their support and maintenance after the divorce. Both parties must agree to it. Since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the Maine divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in a lump sum payment of money or a payment plan. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in Maine.

Local Court Filing Fees
Your Local Court filing fees are not included in the price of our service. To file your divorce in Maine, the court fees must usually be paid when you file the divorce papers at your local county courthouse. It is best to call your local county court and ask them what the fees are in your County to file for divorce. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a Maine divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in Maine, you will always be paying the local court fees.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details