• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your New Jersey Divorce Laws 2017

Discover Your New Jersey Divorce Laws and Save Money… ….by Gaining The “Know-How” of the New Jersey Divorce Process

 

New Jersey Residency Requirement
According to the New Jersey Divorce Laws and New Jersey Divorce Guidelines, to get a No-Fault divorce in New Jersey, one of the spouses must have been a resident for at least one year before filing for divorce.


Place of Divorce (Venue)
The case may be filed in:
Any county in New Jersey


Simplified or Special Divorce Procedures
The filing of an acknowledgment of service of process or appearance is specifically authorized. Also, there is a required Case Information Statement which must be filed for statistical data for the county and state.


New Jersey Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault divorce:
(1) Living separate and apart for 6 months

Grounds for Fault based divorce:
(1) Adultery
(2) imprisonment for 18 months
(3) unnatural sexual behavior before or after marriage;
(4) alcoholism and/or drug addiction;
(5) confinement for incurable insanity;
(6) willful desertion for 1 year;
(7) cruel and inhuman treatment;
(8) separation for 2 years caused by confinement for mental illness
(9) extreme cruelty

 

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in New Jersey, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , as described in the New Jersey divorce guidelines and NJ divorce laws, is when the other spouses agrees to the terms of the divorce such as New Jersey property distribution, New Jersey child support, or New Jersey child custody. Most of our customers (75%) prefer the Agreed Divorce method when the spouses sign the divorce papers and are agreed to the divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , from the New Jersey divorce guidelines and NJ divorce laws, is a divorce where your spouse doesn’t sign the New Jersey Divorce paperwork or New Jersey divorce forms. They simply doesn’t do anything at all… with the divorce. They simply default on their side of the case. And YOU who filed FIRST get whatever you ask for in the originally filed divorce forms. NICE

New Jersey Missing Spouse
If your unsure of where your spouse is currently located, you may still get divorced in New Jersey. A missing spouse divorce involves running an ad in your local penny newspaper. We help you through the process. Have no fear.

Wife’s Maiden Name
The Wife can receive her Maiden Name returned to her during the divorce. It is optional. We include this maiden name change in our divorce service for FREE. Often divorce in New Jersey includes a maiden name change.


 

New Jersey Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for New Jersey:

 

The Divorce Process to File Your Divorce in New Jersey
There are only a couple basic steps to a divorce:

  • File Your Divorce Papers for New Jersey at your Local County Courthouse (New Jersey Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse by Service of Process of your filing for divorce in New Jersey
  • Attend your New Jersey divorce court hearing. That is it!

 

How The New Jersey Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in New Jersey

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 

Child Custody Laws in New Jersey
Non Legalese Definitions: (source: divorce process in New Jersey and NJ divorce laws)

  • Visitation is the Plan both spouses have on WHERE the children will live and WHEN the children will see each parent
  • Legal Custody is different than Visitation. It is the ability to make decisions in the lives of the children. Such as, which church they will go to and where the children will attend school.
  • Physical Custody Is the choice of where the children will live and which parent they live with.

New Jersey Child Custody in a shared arrangement, is the usual preferred method of our New Jersey divorce clients. If a sole-custody arrangement is what you would like, then there is usually a very good reason for it. Usually the financial status of a parent is not usually considered for allocating any parental rights and responsibilities. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody is to be awarded according to the “best interests of the child.” That is the gold standard.

Your New Jersey Child Support Laws
If the 2 spouses are unable to agree to a specific $amount of child support, there are New Jersey Child Support Guidelines that determine the amount for you. The guideline amount is supposed to arrive at a support amount that is in the child's best interest. However, most divorcing couples agree to a $number on their own, that will work just fine. Also NOTE, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a New Jersey Legal Separation

New Jersey Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in New Jersey right here.
New Jersey Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In an "Agreed Divorce" or "Default Divorce" the marital property is to be divided so that spouses agree on how to divide it. The main focus here is to agree on the division of the property…so that it doesn’t create a big fight that one party will want to go to a New Jersey divorce lawyer to make the divorce into a “Contested Divorce.” Then YOU will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too. Which can be huge.

  • Debts Most couples going thru a divorce, set out who will pay what debts as part of their Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA), and close all of their joint bank accounts.
  • New Jersey Alimony Laws (New Jersey Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested “Agreed or Default” Divorce, spousal support may be awarded to either spouse for their maintenance and support. Both parties must agree to it however…since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the New Jersey divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in one lump sum payment OR the use of a payment plan has become popular in the last 10 years as well. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in New Jersey.

Your Local County Court Fees
When filing for divorce, your local county court charges some fees. They go to pay the clerks and the judges. The usual range for filing is between $75 and $200 to file a divorce. Every county does vary so the better way to know is to call your county in the blue government section of your phone book. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a New Jersey divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in New Jersey, you will be paying your own filing fees.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details