• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your North Carolina Divorce Laws 2017

Discover Your North Carolina Divorce Laws and Save Money… ….by Gaining The “Know-How” of the North Carolina Divorce Process

 

North Carolina Residency Requirement
According to the North Carolina Divorce Laws and North Carolina Divorce Guidelines, to get divorced in North Carolina, one of the spouses must have been a resident of the state for at least 6 months before filing the case


Place of Divorce (Venue)
The case may be filed in:
County where one of the spouses resides


North Carolina Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault divorce:
(1) Living separate and apart without cohabitation for 1 year

Grounds for Fault based divorce:
(1) Confinement for incurable insanity for 3 years
(2) incurable mental illness based on examinations for 3 years

 

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in North Carolina, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , as described in the North Carolina divorce guidelines and NC divorce laws, is when the other spouses agrees to the terms of the divorce such as North Carolina property distribution, North Carolina child support, or North Carolina child custody. Most of our customers (75%) prefer the Agreed Divorce method when the spouses sign the divorce papers and are agreed to the divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , from the North Carolina divorce guidelines and NC divorce laws, is a divorce where your spouse doesn’t sign the North Carolina Divorce paperwork or North Carolina divorce forms. They simply doesn’t do anything at all… with the divorce. They simply default on their side of the case. And YOU who filed FIRST get whatever you ask for in the originally filed divorce forms. NICE

The Missing Spouse Problem
If you don’t know where your spouse is currently located…in the USA or outside the USA… you may still get a divorce in North Carolina. It may involve the extra expense of running a newspaper ad or something similar, but it is doable and we help clients through the process everyday.

Wife’s Maiden Name
The Wife can receive her Maiden Name returned to her during the divorce. It is optional. We include this maiden name change in our divorce service for FREE. Often divorce in North Carolina includes a maiden name change.


 

North Carolina Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for North Carolina:

 

The Divorce Process to File Your Divorce in North Carolina
There are only a couple basic steps to a divorce:

  • File Your Divorce Papers for North Carolina at your Local County Courthouse (North Carolina Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse by Service of Process of your filing for divorce in North Carolina
  • Attend your North Carolina divorce court hearing. That is it!

 

How The North Carolina Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in North Carolina

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 

Child Custody Laws in North Carolina
Non Legalese Definitions: (source: divorce process in North Carolina and NC divorce laws)

  • Visitation is the Plan both spouses have on WHERE the children will live and WHEN the children will see each parent
  • Legal Custody is different than Visitation. It is the ability to make decisions in the lives of the children. Such as, which church they will go to and where the children will attend school.
  • Physical Custody Is the choice of where the children will live and which parent they live with.

North Carolina Child Custody in a shared arrangement, is the usual preferred method of our North Carolina divorce clients. If a sole-custody arrangement is what you would like, then there is usually a very good reason for it. Usually the financial status of a parent is not usually considered for allocating any parental rights and responsibilities. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody is to be awarded according to the “best interests of the child.” That is the gold standard.

Your North Carolina Child Support Laws
If the 2 spouses are unable to agree to a specific $amount of child support, there are North Carolina Child Support Guidelines that determine the amount for you. The guideline amount is supposed to arrive at a support amount that is in the child's best interest. However, most divorcing couples agree to a $number on their own, that will work just fine. Also NOTE, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a North Carolina Legal Separation

North Carolina Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in North Carolina right here.
North Carolina Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In an "Agreed Divorce" or "Default Divorce" the marital property is to be divided so that spouses agree on how to divide it. The main focus here is to agree on the division of the property…so that it doesn’t create a big fight that one party will want to go to a North Carolina divorce lawyer to make the divorce into a “Contested Divorce.” Then YOU will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too. Which can be huge.

  • Debts Most couples going thru a divorce, set out who will pay what debts as part of their Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA), and close all of their joint bank accounts.
  • North Carolina Alimony Laws (North Carolina Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested “Agreed or Default” Divorce, spousal support may be awarded to either spouse for their maintenance and support. Both parties must agree to it however…since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the North Carolina divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in one lump sum payment OR the use of a payment plan has become popular in the last 10 years as well. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in North Carolina.

Your Local County Court Fees
When filing for divorce, your local county court charges some fees. They go to pay the clerks and the judges. The usual range is between $75 and $200 to file a divorce. Every county does have fees and it varies. The best way to know the exact fees is to call your county in the blue government section of your phone book. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a North Carolina divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in North Carolina, you will be paying your own filing fees.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details