• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your Oregon Divorce Laws 2017

Discover Your Oregon Divorce Laws and Save Money… ….by Gaining The “Know-How” of the Oregon Divorce Process

 

Oregon Residency Requirement
According to the Oregon Divorce Laws and Oregon Divorce Guidelines, to get divorced in Oregon, one of the spouses must have been a resident of the state for 6 months before filing the case if the marriage was not performed in Oregon. There is no residency requirement if Oregon is the marriage place and one of the spouses is a resident at the time of the case being filed


Place of Divorce (Venue)
The divorce can be filed in:
County where either spouse resides.


Time to Divorce
There is a 90-day waiting period, which begins after the respondent has been served with the Oregon Divorce Forms and Oregon Divorce Papers, before a hearing will be scheduled.


Simplified or Special Divorce Procedures
The spouses may qualify for a summary dissolution of marriage if the following conditions are met:
(1) the residency requirements are fulfilled
(2) There are no minor children, born or adopted, and the wife is not pregnant
(3) the marriage is not over 10 years in length
(4) neither spouse owns any real estate
(5) there are no unpaid debts in excess of $15,000 incurred by either or both spouses during the marriage
(6) the total value of all of the spouse's personal property is less than $30,000, excluding any unpaid balances on loans
(7) the petitioner waives the right to spousal support [alimony]
(8) the petitioner waives the right to any pendente lite (preliminary) orders, except for the prevention of spouse abuse [temporary court orders pending the final divorce].


Oregon Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault divorce:
(1) Irreconcilable differences

Grounds for Fault based divorce:
(1) Consent to marriage was obtained by fraud, duress, or force
(2) minor married without lawful consent
(3) spouse lacked mental capacity to consent

 

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in Oregon, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , as shown in the OR divorce guidelines, is where BOTH spouses agree on the divorce terms such as Oregon property distribution, Oregon child support, or Oregon child custody. Our clients (75%) usually prefer the Agreed Divorce method and both spouses sign the completed divorce forms and are agreed to the divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , from the Oregon divorce guidelines and OR divorce laws, is a divorce where your spouse doesn’t sign the Oregon Divorce paperwork or Oregon divorce forms. They simply doesn’t do anything at all… with the divorce. They simply default on their side of the case. And YOU who filed FIRST get whatever you ask for in the originally filed divorce forms. NICE

 

Oregon Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for Oregon:

 

The Divorce Process to File Your Divorce in Oregon
There are only a couple basic steps to a divorce:

  • File Your Divorce Papers for Oregon at your Local County Courthouse (Oregon Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse by Service of Process of your filing for divorce in Oregon
  • Attend your Oregon divorce court hearing. That is it!

 

How The Oregon Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in Oregon

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 


Oregon Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In an "Agreed Divorce" or "Default Divorce" the marital property is to be divided so that spouses agree on how to divide it. The main focus here is to agree on the division of the property…so that it doesn’t create a big fight that one party will want to go to a Oregon divorce lawyer to make the divorce into a “Contested Divorce.” Then YOU will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too. Which can be huge.

  • Debts Most couples going thru a divorce, set out who will pay what debts as part of their Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA), and close all of their joint bank accounts.
  • Oregon Alimony Laws (Oregon Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested “Agreed or Default” Divorce, spousal support may be awarded to either spouse for their maintenance and support. Both parties must agree to it however…since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the Oregon divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in one lump sum payment OR the use of a payment plan has become popular in the last 10 years as well. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in Oregon.

Oregon Child Custody Laws
Easy Definitions: (source: divorce process in Oregon and OR divorce laws)

  • The Visitation Plan is the Plan the parents have on WHERE the children will live and WHEN the children will visit each spouse
  • Legal Custody is different than the Visitation Plan. It is the parent’s ability to make core decisions in the lives of the children…like, which church they will attend.
  • Physical Custody Is the parent’s choice of where the children will live. Also, which parent they live with and when they will exchange.

Oregon Child Custody in a shared arrangement, is the usual preferred method of our Oregon divorce clients. If a sole-custody arrangement is what you would like, then there is usually a very good reason for it. Usually the financial status of a parent is not usually considered for allocating any parental rights and responsibilities. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody is to be awarded according to the “best interests of the child.” That is the gold standard.

Your Oregon Child Support Laws
If the 2 spouses are unable to agree to a specific $amount of child support, there are Oregon Child Support Guidelines that determine the amount for you. The guideline amount is supposed to arrive at a support amount that is in the child's best interest. However, most divorcing couples agree to a $number on their own, that will work just fine. Also NOTE, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a Oregon Legal Separation

Oregon Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in Oregon right here.

The Missing Spouse Problem
If you don’t know where your spouse is currently located…in the USA or outside the USA… you may still get a divorce in Oregon. It may involve the extra expense of running a newspaper ad or something similar, but it is doable and we help clients through the process everyday.

Wife’s Maiden Name
The Wife can receive her Maiden Name returned to her during the divorce. It is optional. We include this maiden name change in our divorce service for FREE. Often divorce in Oregon includes a maiden name change.

Your Local County Court Fees
When filing for divorce, your local county court charges some fees usually. They need to pay the clerks and the judges. The price range is between $75 and $200 to file a divorce paper. Every county does vary. So the best way to know is to call your county in the blue government section of your phone book. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a Oregon divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in Oregon, you will be paying your own filing fees.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details