• Get Divorced...
    Without Lawyers...
    101% Guaranteed.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Get Your
    "Court-Ready
    Divorce Forms"
    In 2-3 Business Days

    We have more than a decade of
    working relationships with the courts.


    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Kristen in Texas Says:

    "Thank you for helping me through my divorce. I had a lot of questions and the customer service people got to the heart of the situation and helped me get on with the divorce. I thought the whole service was great."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?
  • Gary In Missouri Says:

    "The price was so good, I had to do my divorce with you. I didn't want to pay a lawyer $800 dollars to do an uncontested divorce. We already knew what we wanted on how to divide up the house. I'm grateful I found you when I did. Going through the stress of a divorce is hard enough without having financial stress as well. Thank you so much."

    Are you Qualified to Get a
    Do It Yourself Divorce?

Your Virginia Divorce Laws 2017

Get Your Virginia Divorce Laws and Save Your Time… ….by Discovering The “Know-How” of the Virginia Divorce Process

 

Virginia Residency Requirement
According to the Virginia Divorce Laws and Virginia Divorce Guidelines, to get divorced in Virginia, one of the spouses must have been a resident of the state for at least 6 months prior to filing the case.

Place of Divorce (Venue)
The case may be filed in:
(1) The county in which the spouses last lived together
(2) or at the option of the plaintiff the county where the defendant resides if the defendant is a resident of Virginia
(3) If the defendant is a non-resident of Virginia, the county or city where the plaintiff resides.

Simplified or Special Divorce Procedures
Separation agreements are specifically authorized by statute and will reduce the time required for living apart by 6 months. In addition, a spouse may waive service of process, but the waiver of service of process form must be signed in front of the clerk of the court. The testimony of either spouse must also, generally, be corroborated by a witness.


Virginia Grounds for Divorce
Grounds for a No-Fault divorce:
(1) living separate and apart without cohabitation for 1 year
(2) living separate and apart without cohabitation for 6 months if there are no minor children and the spouses have entered into a separation agreement

Grounds for a Fault based divorce:
(1) adultery
(2) abandonment
(3) conviction of a felony and imprisonment for 1 year
(4) cruelty
(5) willful desertion

 

NOTE: Regardless of the reason of the breakdown of the marriage or the reason for filing for divorce in Virginia, the Divorce Do It Yourself Service will do divorces on an "Agreed" basis or a “Default” basis.

  • An Agreed Divorce , as shown in the VA divorce guidelines, is where BOTH spouses agree on the divorce terms such as Virginia property distribution, Virginia child support, or Virginia child custody. Our clients (75%) usually prefer the Agreed Divorce method and both spouses sign the completed divorce forms and are agreed to the divorce.

  • A Default Divorce , from the divorce guidelines and Virginia divorce laws, is when the other spouse doesn’t sign the Virginia Divorce forms at all. He/she doesn’t do anything with the divorce. They simply default on their side of the case and the spouse who filed the original Complaint for Divorce gets whatever they asked for. Perfect!

 

Virginia Divorce Resources
Here are the important divorce resources for Virginia:

 

The Divorce Process to File Your Divorce in Virginia
There are only a couple basic steps to a divorce:

  • File Your Divorce Papers for Virginia at your Local County Courthouse (Virginia Divorce Forms)
  • Notify Spouse by Service of Process of your filing for divorce in Virginia
  • Attend your Virginia divorce court hearing. That is it!

 

How The Virginia Divorce Service Works

Divorce Process in Virginia

See Divorce Prices - Click Here

 


Virginia Divorce Laws for Property Distribution
In an "Agreed Divorce" or "Default Divorce" the marital property is to be divided so that spouses agree on how to divide it. The main focus here is to agree on the division of the property…so that it doesn’t create a big fight that one party will want to go to a Virginia divorce lawyer to make the divorce into a “Contested Divorce.” Then YOU will have to incur the fees of a lawyer too. Which can be huge.

  • Debts Most couples going thru a divorce, set out who will pay what debts as part of their Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA), and close all of their joint bank accounts.
  • Virginia Alimony Laws (Virginia Spousal Support Laws) In an Uncontested “Agreed or Default” Divorce, spousal support may be awarded to either spouse for their maintenance and support. Both parties must agree to it however…since most spouses are working, alimony (if awarded at all), is usually for a shorter period of time, and smaller amount than in the past. In the Virginia divorce laws for alimony, it is possible for alimony to be paid in one lump sum payment OR the use of a payment plan has become popular in the last 10 years as well. Alimony is not required for a person to get divorced in Virginia.

Virginia Child Custody Laws
Easy Definitions: (source: divorce process in Virginia and VA divorce laws)

  • The Visitation Plan is the Plan the parents have on WHERE the children will live and WHEN the children will visit each spouse
  • Legal Custody is different than the Visitation Plan. It is the parent’s ability to make core decisions in the lives of the children…like, which church they will attend.
  • Physical Custody Is the parent’s choice of where the children will live. Also, which parent they live with and when they will exchange.

Virginia Child Custody in a “Shared Custody” arrangement, is the normal method of our Virginia divorce customers. If a “Sole Custody” arrangement is to be considered, then there typically must be a very good reason . Usually the job or financial status of a spouse is not to be considered for allocating any parental rights. Shared Custody or Sole Child Custody may be awarded to the Best Interests of the Child, of course.

Your Virginia Child Support Laws
If the 2 spouses are unable to agree to a specific $amount of child support, there are Virginia Child Support Guidelines that determine the amount for you. The guideline amount is supposed to arrive at a support amount that is in the child's best interest. However, most divorcing couples agree to a $number on their own, that will work just fine. Also NOTE, in most situations, -0- Child Support is OK if both spouses are working and can manage. This is also true for a Virginia Legal Separation

Virginia Child Support Calculator
You can calculate your child support in Virginia right here.

Missing Spouse and Running a Newspaper Ad
If your spouse is missing and you do not know where to cannot locate him/her, after diligent effort, you can still get divorced in Virginia. It may involve the extra expense of running a newspaper ad or something similar. We help you through the process. No big deal.

Wife’s Maiden Name Change
The Wife’s Maiden Name can be returned in the divorce process, if she wishes. We include the maiden name change in in our service as a FREE GIFT.

Your Local County Court Fees
When filing for divorce papers your local county court charges some fees that goes to the clerks and the judges. The usual range is between $75 and $200 to file a divorce. Every county does vary. So the best way to know is to call your county in the blue government section of your phone book. Regardless of whether you are going through a divorce service, using a Virginia divorce kit, using a divorce attorney (or divorce lawyer), or doing a nearly free divorce in Virginia, you will be paying your own filing fees.

 

Divorce Laws and Guidelines

 

 

 

 

Do You Qualify

Tell a friend

Do You Qualify for an
Uncontested Divorce?

 

Divorce: Easy as 123

How It Works

1 After you order, send in your information via the simple Divorce Questionnaire.

 

2 We complete your divorce forms in 2-3 business days and email them back for your review.

 

3 Sign and file the final divorce papers at your local County Courthouse. Get a date for your hearing and attend it.

Start Here

 

 

Free Divorce Booklet

Free Divorce Booklet
 
 

Common Questions

Common Questions
 

101% Guarantee

Our Famous 101% Guarantee

Do it yourself divorces

We have been doing divorces since 1988. We feel that our product is of the highest quality. Therefore, we offer our 101% Performance Guarantee

See Prices Page For Details